AfriNEAD 2014 Symposium

The Faculty of Social Science of the University of Malawi in Collaboration with the Ministry of Disability and Elderly Affairs, the Federation of Disability Organisations in Malawi (FEDOMA) and the Secretariat of the African Network for Evidence-to-Action on Disability (AfriNEAD) at Stellenbosch University in South Africa have gone into a partnership and are collaborating in the hosting of the 2014 AfriNEAD Symposium which will take place from   3rd- 5th   November 2014 at Sun and Sand Holiday Resort in lakeshore district of Mangochi in Southern Malawi.

The theme for the conference is: “Intensifying disability research and practice to achieve the MDGs in Africa: our experience and aspirations for the future”.

The conference sub-themes are:

Children and youth with disabilities

Education: early to tertiary

Economic empowerment

Development process in Africa: Poverty, politics and indigenous knowledge systems

Health, HIV/AIDS and community-based rehabilitation

Holistic wellness: sport, recreation, sexuality and spirituality

Research evidence and utilization

The deadline for receipt of abstracts is 31st March 2014. The abstracts should be submitted to the following email address:  Abstracts should clearly state, the research title, background, objective(s), methodology, results, conclusion and key words. Abstracts should not exceed 300 words. Notification of acceptance of abstracts will be sent on 2nd May 2014 and full papers will be expected before 31st July 2014.

Registration fee: The registration fee for the AfriNEAD 2014 symposium per delegate is US$370 for those who register by 31st March 2014. Those who register after this date will pay US$470.

Lodging and Accommodation: Conference organizers will not provide accommodation but researchers are advised to book their accommodation at the following hotels: Sun and Sand Holiday Resort, Andrews Motel, Boadzulu Holiday Resort, Nkopola Lodge and Club Makokola. The rates for these hotels will be communicated by end of January 2014.

For more information contact the following at or

Dr Alister Munthali:

Mrs Monica Jamali-Phiri:

Mrs Upile Denge:

Ms Agness Mkundiza:

Hillary Lane: