Three members of Convocation management resign

Prof Russel Botman, Rector and Vice-Chancellor of Stellenbosch University (SU), Wednesday afternoon expressed his regret over the resignation of Ms Sanette Nowers, Mr Johann Aspeling and Dr Michael le Cordeur from the Executive Committee of Stellenbosch University’s Convocation.

“The management of Stellenbosch University regrets the resignation of three members of the Executive Committee of the Convocation. It is clear to us that the issue at hand is not deep-rooted differences about the protection of Afrikaans. On the position of Afrikaans at Stellenbosch University the Management and the Convocation are in agreement. It is my impression that the resignation is related to the increasing tension about the manner in which the issue of Afrikaans is being handled by some members of the Executive Committee of the Convocation – a manner which impacts on the dignity of the Convocation and is harming rather than promoting Afrikaans. The Stellenbosch University management was indignant at the actions by the President of the Convocation at the annual meeting of the Convocation on 10 December and we lodged a complaint with the Executive Committee in December already. The University management has as yet not received a response to our letter in this regard. On behalf of Stellenbosch University and all our alumni, I would like to thank the three members for contributing constructively to the promotion of the University’s interests,” Prof Botman said.

Read the media release issued by Ms Sanette Nowers, Mr Johann Aspeling and Dr Michael le Cordeur here (Afrikaans only).