Maties crowned as campus winners in ATKV debate competition

Maties again showed that they have the gift of the gab when they were crowned campus winners at the annual ATKV debate competition last week.

The Matie debaters are from left Christian van Zyl, Wiaan Visser, Alma Diamond, Jana Roos, Johann Gerber (SRc member), Clinton du Preez (sitting), Wynand Spruyt, Marnus Havenga, Naomi Bruwer and Innus Barnard.

On 8 April it was once again time for the ATKV Universities Debate Competition – South Africa’s biggest competition of its kind. In this competition, which was held at the Potchefstroom campus of the Northwest University, teams from Tukkies, Kovsies, UJ, Pukke and Maties took each other on by means of the British Parliamentary debate on current and controversial issues.

The competition is aimed at the promotion of spoken Afrikaans amongst the youth and the development of leaders by preparing and empowering them for daily public debates which take place in society.

The two teams from Maties again confirmed Stellenbosch students’ critical thinking abilities and quick tongues by not only making it to the semi-finals, but also by walking away with the overall second and third prizes and eventually the award for overall campus winner.

Wynand Spruyt, one of the members of the debate team, said: “I think our success can be attributed to the fact that Matie debaters are very focussed on good argumentation. This, together with the fact that we all have exceptional general knowledge as well as subject knowledge, contributes to us making  strong and often complicated arguments.

“It was a fantastic experience that gave Matie students the opportunity to show with how much spirit and energy they approach these competitions.  We all agree that there simply are no University that can compare with us!”

The team who participated in the final against Tukkies consisted of Wynand Spruyt, Clinton du Preez, Wiaan Visser and Jana Roos – the same team that was crowned overall winners two years ago. As team two, Christian van Zyl, Innus Barnard, Marnus Havenga and Alma Diamond, consistently scored points for the score board and ensured that Stellenbosch walked away as campus winners.