Two SU lecturers featured in National Excellence in Teaching and Learning Awards

Mr Len Steenkamp, Stellenbosch University; Dr Liezel Nel, Free State University; Prof Jen Snowball, Rhodes University; Prof Delia Marshall, University of the Western Cape. Absent: Mrs Sherlien Prithepaul, Durban University of Technology.

The Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL) congratulates two Stellenbosch University lecturers selected by the national Higher Education Learning and Teaching Association of Southern Africa (HELTASA) committee for teaching excellence.

Lecturers from across South Africa were invited by their heads of department to submit their teaching and learning portfolios. A total of 27 candidates had been nominated and the quality of portfolios received was extremely high.

Mr Len Steenkamp (Senior Lecturer: Accounting Department) was selected as one of the top five recipients of the award of Excellence in Teaching and Learning while Prof David Holgate (Associate Professor: Department Mathematics) received a commendation.

The award was handed over to Mr Steenkamp at the annual HELTASA conference, hosted by the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, on 1 December 2011.

HELTASA aims to recognise lecturers who demonstrate excellence in teaching and learning. Their selection is a great achievement for their faculties as well as for Stellenbosch University. Lecturers such as these serve as role models and leaders with regard the higher education sector in South Africa.