Professor Sandra Liebenberg appointed to UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Professor Sandra Liebenberg (H.F. Oppenheimer Chair in Human Rights Law, Distinguished Professor at Stellenbosch University’s Law Faculty and Co-Director of the Socio-Economic Rights and Administrative Justice (SERAJ) Research Project), was elected as the African States representative on the United Nations Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR) on Wednesday, 6 April 2016. The South African Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO) nominated Professor Liebenberg in recognition of her “extensive extensive experience in human rights law, particularly in the area of economic, social and cultural rights“.

The CESCR is a body of 18 independent experts that monitors the implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR) by its States parties. The Committee was established under ECOSOC Resolution 1985/17 of 28 May 1985 to carry out the monitoring functions assigned to the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) in Part IV of the Covenant. The Committee is an important international mechanism for defending and promoting economic, social, and cultural rights with a mandate to specifically monitor State parties’ fulfilment of their obligations under the ICESCR. Professor Liebenberg’s term will commence in January 2017.

The members of the SERAJ Research Project would like to extend our heartfelt congratulations to Professor Liebenberg on her election to the panel of experts of the CESCR. We wish her every success and continued strength in discharging the important and responsible duties of her position – it is an exceptional achievement and we are all extremely proud of her!

Related articles:

Liebenberg nomination_Page 1

Liebenberg nomination_Page 2

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.