Through History’s Lens: How history contributes to a better understanding of science http://bit.ly/edcxmh

A panel of historians and scientists will give examples of how history has helped our human understanding of the natural world. The hour will include a unique opportunity to see important historical scientific artifacts from Harvard’s Putnam Gallery and the NIH’s Stetten Museum. The panel will also discuss what science is learning now that could shape the future.

The webinar will trace the origins of many of today’s research tools and techniques.

Moderated by:

Manfred D. Laubichler
AAAS member and Professor of Theoretical Biology and History of Biology
at Arizona State University

Joining Dr. Laubichler on the webinar will be:

Gary Borisy, Ph.D.
Director and CEO of the Marine Biological Laboratory

Jed Z. Buchwald, Ph.D.
Doris and Henry Dreyfuss Professor of History at Caltech

Jane Maienschein, Ph.D.
Director of the Center for Biology and Society, Arizona State University

Event Date: April 1, 2011 12:00 p.m. ET; 9:00 a.m. PT; 5:00 p.m. GMT

Tagged with:
 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.

© 2012-2021 Department of Microbiology Blog All Rights Reserved -- Copyright notice by Blog Copyright