Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) – 60th Anniversary

South Africa is very proud to be part of this legacy!! South Africa’s permanent presence on the Antarctic Continent, Dronning Maud Land region (approximately 4000 km south of Cape Town) commenced in 1959, during the first South African National Antarctic Expedition (SANAE).

South Africa’s presence in the sub-Antarctic dates back to 1947/1948, when Marion Island (29 December 1947) and Prince Edward Island (04 January 1948) were annexed consecutively.

A summary of facts about SCAR and some significant Antarctic scientific discoveries from the past 60 years, compiled to accompany the pdf 60th anniversary press release (79 KB) .

Read more on the SCAR Website (Click here)

Anché Louw, Antarctic Legacy of South Africa, Department of Botany and Zoology, Stellenbosch University, 06 February 2018.

Join the discussion