Collaborating Institutions

The C·I·B is an inter-institutional Centre of Excellence established within the Department of Science and Innovation Centres of Excellence Programme, and is co-funded by DSI-NRF and the University of Stellenbosch.

Although the C·I·B is housed at the University of Stellenbosch, it does research work and student training with the help of a network of researchers at several South African universities and institutions. These include the University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Cape Town, University of Pretoria, University of Venda, University of the Witwatersrand, South African National Parks (SANParks), South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity (SAIAB), South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI), and Rhodes University.


We actively collaborate with a range of researchers and organisations devoted to invasion biology on a national and international level. These include Cape Nature; Drankenstein Trust; LIB, Universidad de Concepción; Institute of Botany, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic; Soil Ecosystem Research Group; City of Cape Town; Western Cape Education Department; the Working for Water Programme; The Honolulu Challenge; The Nature Conservancy; and Centre for Statistics in Ecology, Environment and Conservation.